h1

MySpace earns its pay for the week (listening diary/recent acquisitions).

February 21, 2008

I forget why I was thinking about Trevor Dunn (probably something to do with the fact that he’s a great bass player), but I clicked on his MySpace. Before I could hit the mute button (which I always do first thing on my infrequent surfings there), his MySpace player played me a track from Six Litanies for Heliogabalus, which totally outragiously rocked without stopping, so I bought it. While I had my wallet out, I also bought The Same and the Other by the Ahleuchatistas. It’s sector of soundspace is triangulated by the Molecules, the Meat Puppets, and (sorry fellas) Rush. In a good way. (Someone else might have said Beefheart or something).

Something else that bears raving is Ice Cream Time by Nick Didkovsky. Sounds like Dr. Nerve, but it’s just a sax quartet and Didkovsky on guitar (there’s live laptop/electronics too but they’re not out in front).  It totally works.   And I also picked up and am digging Urban Mythology vol. One by Free Form Funky Freqs (Reid/Tacuma/Weston), I gotta go but here’s someone else’s review.

One comment

  1. […] wpm1955 wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt […]



Leave a Reply

