h1

The fruits of a recent trip to Amoeba

July 13, 2007

Richard Thompson: 1000 Years of Popular Music

Jim Copp & Ed Brown: Flibbertigibbets on Parade.

Marc Ribot plays Masada book II: Asmodeus

Marc Ribot’s Shrek live ’92-’94: Yo! I Killed Your God.

Comments and links (but no samples- maybe a little later) below the fold.

Richard Thompson: 1000 Years of Popular Music. Quoth the artist: “The idea for this project came from Playboy Magazine – I was asked to submit a list, in late 1999, of the ten greatest songs of the Millenium. Hah! I thought… I’ll call their bluff and do a real thousand-year selection.” This package presents live concert material (Feb 2 & 3 2005, San Francisco CA, Bimbo’s) on a dvd and 2 audio cds. RT is joined by Judith Owen and Debra Dobkin. And he picked these songs, but on the live package you get Friday on My Mind instead of Kiss (boo). Both this package and the original cd from 2003 are available at RT’s US web store.

Jim Copp & Ed Brown: Flibbertigibbets on Parade. Often and emphatically recommended by Henry Kaiser (eg) (I was turned into a raving, drooling, irrational Daniel Pinkwater fan by an onstage recommendation from HK 21 short years ago). Silly and enlightened, but I’m not sure it’s gonna be a hit with my kids anytime soon. For some reason I have the impression that Playhouse Records is run by Copp’s estate, but they have’nt figured out paypal yet so you have to call them during business hours or send them a check. It’s also available through your normal channels of consumption.

Marc Ribot plays Masada book II: Asmodeus Masada (fan site, wikipedia) material preformed by Ribot on guitar, Trevor Dunn on Bass, and G. Calvin Weston (careful, that’s a MySpace link) on drums. This is the winner of the batch. Very high energy playing, Ribot has me wondering if Jimi Hendrix and Sonny Sharrock were Jewish. I used to listen to lots of records with Weston on them in the eighties, and I used to see Trevor gig all the time in the nineties, so this is pounding me with twin fistfuls of blissful nostalgia. Buy it from Tzadik.

Marc Ribot’s Shrek live ’92-’94: Yo! I Killed Your God. This is good too, cuter, kinda punker, totally worth it but shouldn’t be your second Ribot unit if the above is your first. Also available from Tzadik

One comment

  1. […] with the most insane sound orgasms.” July 17th, 2007 A review of Asmodeus (which I recently reported buying and enjoying) with samples.  He seems to like it  almost as much as I do.  Again, you can […]



Leave a Reply

