h1

Spider dna music

July 2, 2007

Between the dissertation and the two small children, I haven’t been able to do ICS in a long time. So a few weeks ago I converted some of my spider dna sequence data into midi with Protein Music, edited the files in Garage Band, and called the results my session. Here they are. One (cyt-ox.mp3) has data from the same gene from many spiders, the other (ex158.mp3) has data from a couple of genes from a single spider.

Read while you listen:

Life Music: The sonification of proteins.

A Protein Primer: A musical introduction to protein structure.

If you have a PC, Bio2MIDI looks interesting, but I have a Mac.

By the way you can generally assume that my music is under a CC Attribution-NonCommercial liscence unless it says otherwise. Just don’t claim that my ideas are your own, and don’t profit from them without cutting me in to my satisfaction, and we’re cool. Edit 20070703: Also, if you’re gonna package them for distribution on an extra-personal scale, I get veto power. OK, now we’re cool. (I also added the split)

One comment

  1. Holy sweet merciful crap, Steve, that’s incredible. This is the best ambient music ever. It should be the soundtrack to a Jim Woodring animation or the like.
    WHEN YOU ARE NOT BUSY YOU MUST TEACH ME TO DO THIS WITH BEETLES.



Leave a Reply

