h1

Listening diary: Ruggles and Berio

June 1, 2007

So the first thing I did after digging on American Mavericks was go out and buy a bunch of old electronic music by Morton Subotnick (specifically #’s 1, 7, and 8 on this page). It was as great as I thought it would be. The next thing was to go get some Henry Brant (you can get you some here). That was great too. The next thing was to get some Carl Ruggles, but it took me until about a month ago, and then it was on vinyl (complete works directed by Michael Tilson Thomas, got it on ebay) so it’s taken me this long to digitize the first half. My impression was that I was going to love it as much as I love Henry Brant for alot of the same reasons, but I have to say that Ruggles succumbs to academic tedium alot more often. I’ve still got two thumbs up for it, but get the Brant first.

So then I decided to listen to some Bartok, but as I was scrolling up through the B’s I saw Berio (wikipedia), and I thought “gee I haven’t listened to that in a really long time” so I am. And it totally outrageously rocks. Don’t you love it when that happens? I listened to it when I got it, probably 12 -15 years ago, and forgot about it. It’s Laborintus 2, which as of this writing is available used for 5 bucks at Amazon. But I gonna go get me some free Berio here (vocal) and here (instrumental).

Leave a Reply

